Sign In Forgot Password

Oneg Hosting

- For Oneg assignments, scroll down or click here.

- For file copy of these instructions, click here (PDF file).


HOSTING THE ONEG – Instructions to Guide You


Thank you in advance for hosting the Oneg!  Oneg receptions have become an integral part of how we build our Kol Haverim sense of community and as a host; you are helping us do this.  It is not designed to be a difficult process at all, and we have created these detailed guidelines so that you know exactly what to expect, and you can participate in an easy way.

The Board Representative Is Your Partner and Guide

Your co-hosting family/families are your partners, and your Board Representative is your guide before, during, and after the service to help you host the Oneg.  He or she will contact you to remind you of your date a month before and be in touch as needed as the date approaches.  He or she will be your resource for questions then, as well as the Oneg evening, and will assist you in carrying out your role as Oneg host.

Coordinating - About 2 Weeks Prior to the Oneg

By now your Board Representative will have contacted you and if not, feel free to call him or her.  They are the one to get information from the temple on potential contributors to the Oneg, so that you and the other Oneg host know who else might be contributing to the Oneg, and the approximate number of attendees.  Your Board Representative will confirm information about any B’nai Mitzvah family, or other life event family, as it is customary that they take part in Friday’s Shabbat Service and assist in the Oneg in honor of their family.  Although families celebrating life events often bring food and drink, they’re not expected to set-up nor clean-up.  And, unless you hear differently due to an event, an average number of people on any Friday night service is 20-25, and that is the number we suggest you use when planning what to bring for the Oneg.

What to Bring

Along with others that might be helping to host the Oneg, we are asking that you collectively provide the food and beverages for Oneg reception.  (“Beverages” are juice, soda, or cider, and does not include coffee or tea.)  We do ask that you bring cream for the coffee.

The board representative is responsible to bring 2 challah (1- Friday & 1- Saturday).

Any combination of the suggested food items below tends to work great.  The collective result is typically a mini-spread so that there is handful of tasty choices for all to enjoy.  We know that you are busy, so please do not feel that the “goodies” always need to be home-baked.  The importance of the refreshments is that they are thoughtful and presented in a way that extends the warmth of our Shabbat services.  We have learned that when we plan Oneg receptions this way, people like to linger with each other to partake and connect as part of the whole Shabbat experience.  As for exactly what food you’ll bring, you and your other host family can plan what suits each of you the best.

Choices to Consider:

  • Mini muffins, cupcakes or full-size of the same
  • Coffee cakes or other pastries, varieties of cookies or bars
  • Fruits – fresh fruit salad, melons, or merely grapes and/or berries
  • Cheese and cracker plates
  • Dips or Hummus and pita/crackers

Whether you are baking or buying, the best bet is to plan a “dairy” spread.  This includes all fruits, pastries, cheeses, etc.undefinedand no meat products.  We tend to avoid nuts due to any allergies.  If there is any question at all, ask your Board Representative.

Your Own Touch:

Oneg hosts often enjoy adding special touches of their own to present a homey feeling.  Flowers or candles on the table can add a little extra to make it all the more festive.  Sometimes your personal touch is merely the care you take to lay-out what you have brought.  In the end, it is really your choice, and your way.  We don’t want to prescribe what you do, as we appreciate whatever you want to do.  Also, hosting the Oneg does not need to break the bank.  By sharing the role with each other, it can be easily done in a nice and yet cost-efficient way.

What the Synagogue Has

The synagogue provides all: paper goods, decaffeinated coffee, tea, wine, platters, bowls, and creamers.  Vases and doilies for platters are there should you need them.  Tablecloths are in bins under the table in the kitchen.  The synagogue also has plastic ware for eating and silver spoons, cake cutters, etc. for serving.   

The Evening of the Service and Oneg

Arriving and Leaving:
Services begin at 7:30 p.m., please arrive at 7:00 p.m. to help set-up.  The Board Representative will be there to open the building, help you set-up and remain to assist with clean-up and to lock up the building.  

Setting Up:
Everything you need is in the kitchen, easily located, and clearly marked.  (If you notice that we’re low on a supply, please make a note of it and leave it in Chris’ office mailbox.)

Cleaning Up:
It is your joint responsibility to clean up.  Please wash and dry all items used putting them away where you found them.  Please do not leave them out to dry.  Please take home any leftover food and beverage.  In this way, every subsequent family will easily be able to prepare the Oneg.  We appreciate that someone commit to taking the table cloths home to wash them, and to return them by no later than the following Wednesday.

We hope this opportunity helps you to meet other families of Kol Haverim and to reconnect with old friends!


Oneg Family Dates 2018
 
Below is a listing of upcoming Oneg hosts and the Board reps for upcoming dates. If you cannot make your assigned date, you may try to "swap" with another family assigned for a future time by contacting them. Please notify us if you change date so we can update this listing (send Email to webmaster@kolhaverim.org).
 
Date Oneg Host Oneg host Email B'Nai Mitzvah  Board Rep Board Rep Email
Jan. 5 Grade 5 6:00 Service   Josh Goldman joshncharri@aol.com
  Grade 5 6:45 Dinner      
Jan. 12 Steven Blau & Karen Chorney sblau164@yahoo.com   Brian Durkin brian.durkin@rrd.com
  Steven  & Rachelle Blume drblume@yahoo.com      
Jan. 19 James  & Shari Bosco shari.bosco2@gmail.com   Arnie Weinstein aewdmd1@gmail.com
  Michael  & Margaret Braddon mmmbraddon@cox.net      
Jan. 26 Jeremy and Debbie Bradford debbiebradford27@gmail.com   Julie Teplitsky jteplitsky@comcast.net
  Mr. & Mrs. Karel Citroen tiffany.citroen@sbcglobal.net      
Feb. 2 Grade 4 6:00 Service   Paul Zimmerman p.zimmerman@cox.net
  Grade 4 6:45 Dinner      
Feb. 9 Mr. & Mrs. Eric Clark ericabclark@gmail.com   Larry Garfinkel LMGarfinkel@gmail.com
  Jason  & Rachel Cohen jay@communitycamps.com      
Feb. 16 Rafael  & Patricia Cohen cohen.pa@easthartford.org   Lee Berger lee_m_berger@yahoo.com
  Wallace Cohen & Deborah Eisenberg wmc.dre@frontier.com      
Feb. 23 Dr. & Mrs. Michael Cooper jgcooper567@gmail.com   Len Kaplan lekaplan@att.net
  Douglas Corpuel & Stephanie Pearlman spearlman1@aol.com Schneider    
Mar. 2 Grade 2 6:00 Service   Judy Kulick judyk@cox.net
  Grade 2 6:45 Dinner      
Mar. 9 Allen & Geri Denyer thedenyers@comcast.net Yalof Marla Perlstein perlstein@hartford.edu
  Eileen Dobensky wschurchill@att.net      
Mar. 16 Jonathan Dougherty & Ellen Topel Dougherty EllTop@aol.com Schwartz Marji Finkel marjifinkel@gmail.com
  Bartosz  & Tracy Drelichowski tracydrel@yahoo.com      
Mar. 23 Elaine Ducharme elaine.ducharme@yahoo.com   Alan Paperny alan.paperny@gmail.com
  Kenneth  & Arlene Dworetsky APD4155@aol.com      
Mar. 30 Erika Dworkin edworkin@cthealthshop.com   Howie Breinan breinan@alumni.stanford.org
  David  & Barbara Edelheit edelheit@cox.net      
Apr. 6 Grade K,1 6:00 Service   Shawna Gale shawna.gale@gmail.com
  Grade K,1 6:45 Dinner      
Apr. 13 Harvey  & Barbara Feldman HFBF@cox.net   Harriet Cutler cutlerbass@aol.com
  Mike & Nancy Goldstein amazingcelebrationsllc@cox.net      
Apr. 20 Richard Cramer & Ilona Figura qualitylivingliaisons@gmail.com Tishler June Renert junemhr@gmail.com
  Mr. & Mrs. Daniel Finkle mooliej@hotmail.com      
Apr. 27 Edward  & Lynn Firestone sspl90@cox.net   Tim Lawrence tim_lawrence@loomis.org
  Carol Fish fishsfishs@aol.com      
May. 4 Ed. Committee 6:00 Service Fritz Josh Goldman joshncharri@aol.com
  GRSLY 6:45 Dinner      
May. 11 David  & Carol Fishman CarolF1108@gmail.com Markowitz Brian Durkin brian.durkin@rrd.com
  Tara Flad tflad3@att.net      
May. 18 Price  & Tricia Fradin PriceFradin@yahoo.com   Arnie Weinstein aewdmd1@gmail.com
  Michael  & Susan Franklin ski802@aol.com      
May. 25 Mr. & Mrs. Stephen Freed spfreed@gmail.com Sherman Julie Teplitsky jteplitsky@comcast.net
  Donald  & Cindie Friedman luv2rundf@gmail.com      
Jun. 1 Jay Fromer jfroms@aol.com Durham Paul Zimmerman p.zimmerman@cox.net
  Karen Gagnon pkgagnon@cox.net      
Jun. 8 David  & Joanne Gertler djgertler1@aol.com Lowrey Larry Garfinkel LMGarfinkel@gmail.com
  Steven Girelli & Gwen Kesten imgirel@aol.com      
Jun. 15 Evan  & Debra Glass eghome@cox.net LePage Andrew Feller andrewLfeller@hotmail.com
  Mr. and Mrs. Mark Goldberg NJMorre86@gmail.com      
Jun. 22 David  & Deanna Gorman DNAGorman@gmail.com Cohan Len Kaplan lekaplan@att.net
  Adam  & Carolyn Greene carolynagreene@yahoo.com      
Jun. 29 Mr. & Mrs. Robert Gursky robert.gursky@gmail.com   Marla Perlstein perlstein@hartford.edu
  Andrea Gussak agussak@hotmail.com      
Mon, June 25 2018 12 Tammuz 5778