Sign In Forgot Password

Oneg Hosting

- For Oneg assignments, scroll down or click here.

- For file copy of these instructions, click here (PDF file).


HOSTING THE ONEG – Instructions to Guide You


Thank you in advance for hosting the Oneg!  Oneg receptions have become an integral part of how we build our Kol Haverim sense of community and as a host; you are helping us do this.  It is not designed to be a difficult process at all, and we have created these detailed guidelines so that you know exactly what to expect, and you can participate in an easy way.

The Board Representative Is Your Partner and Guide

Your co-hosting family/families are your partners, and your Board Representative is your guide before, during, and after the service to help you host the Oneg.  He or she will contact you to remind you of your date a month before and be in touch as needed as the date approaches.  He or she will be your resource for questions then, as well as the Oneg evening, and will assist you in carrying out your role as Oneg host.

Coordinating - About 2 Weeks Prior to the Oneg

By now your Board Representative will have contacted you and if not, feel free to call him or her.  They are the one to get information from the temple on potential contributors to the Oneg, so that you and the other Oneg host know who else might be contributing to the Oneg, and the approximate number of attendees.  Your Board Representative will confirm information about any B’nai Mitzvah family, or other life event family, as it is customary that they take part in Friday’s Shabbat Service and assist in the Oneg in honor of their family.  Although families celebrating life events often bring food and drink, they’re not expected to set-up nor clean-up.  And, unless you hear differently due to an event, an average number of people on any Friday night service is 20-25, and that is the number we suggest you use when planning what to bring for the Oneg.

What to Bring

Along with others that might be helping to host the Oneg, we are asking that you collectively provide the food and beverages for Oneg reception.  (“Beverages” are juice, soda, or cider, and does not include coffee or tea.)  We do ask that you bring cream for the coffee.

The board representative is responsible to bring 2 challah (1- Friday & 1- Saturday).

Any combination of the suggested food items below tends to work great.  The collective result is typically a mini-spread so that there is handful of tasty choices for all to enjoy.  We know that you are busy, so please do not feel that the “goodies” always need to be home-baked.  The importance of the refreshments is that they are thoughtful and presented in a way that extends the warmth of our Shabbat services.  We have learned that when we plan Oneg receptions this way, people like to linger with each other to partake and connect as part of the whole Shabbat experience.  As for exactly what food you’ll bring, you and your other host family can plan what suits each of you the best.

Choices to Consider:

  • Mini muffins, cupcakes or full-size of the same
  • Coffee cakes or other pastries, varieties of cookies or bars
  • Fruits – fresh fruit salad, melons, or merely grapes and/or berries
  • Cheese and cracker plates
  • Dips or Hummus and pita/crackers

Whether you are baking or buying, the best bet is to plan a “dairy” spread.  This includes all fruits, pastries, cheeses, etc.undefinedand no meat products.  We tend to avoid nuts due to any allergies.  If there is any question at all, ask your Board Representative.

Your Own Touch:

Oneg hosts often enjoy adding special touches of their own to present a homey feeling.  Flowers or candles on the table can add a little extra to make it all the more festive.  Sometimes your personal touch is merely the care you take to lay-out what you have brought.  In the end, it is really your choice, and your way.  We don’t want to prescribe what you do, as we appreciate whatever you want to do.  Also, hosting the Oneg does not need to break the bank.  By sharing the role with each other, it can be easily done in a nice and yet cost-efficient way.

What the Synagogue Has

The synagogue provides all: paper goods, decaffeinated coffee, tea, wine, platters, bowls, and creamers.  Vases and doilies for platters are there should you need them.  Tablecloths are in bins under the table in the kitchen.  The synagogue also has plastic ware for eating and silver spoons, cake cutters, etc. for serving.   

The Evening of the Service and Oneg

Arriving and Leaving:
Services begin at 7:30 p.m., please arrive at 7:00 p.m. to help set-up.  The Board Representative will be there to open the building, help you set-up and remain to assist with clean-up and to lock up the building.  

Setting Up:
Everything you need is in the kitchen, easily located, and clearly marked.  (If you notice that we’re low on a supply, please make a note of it and leave it in Chris’ office mailbox.)

Cleaning Up:
It is your joint responsibility to clean up.  Please wash and dry all items used putting them away where you found them.  Please do not leave them out to dry.  Please take home any leftover food and beverage.  In this way, every subsequent family will easily be able to prepare the Oneg.  We appreciate that someone commit to taking the table cloths home to wash them, and to return them by no later than the following Wednesday.

We hope this opportunity helps you to meet other families of Kol Haverim and to reconnect with old friends!


Oneg Family Dates 2017
 
Below is a listing of upcoming Oneg hosts and the Board reps for upcoming dates. If you cannot make your assigned date, you may try to "swap" with another family assigned for a future time by contacting them. Please notify us if you change date so we can update this listing (send Email to webmaster@kolhaverim.org).
 
Date Oneg Host Email - Oneg Host B'Nai Mitzvah Board Rep Email  - Board Rep
8-Sep Schwartz, Robert & Erika erikamschwartz@gmail.com Souder Josh Goldman joshncharri@aol.com
  Seagull, Daniel & Michelle mseagull@gmail.com      
15-Sep Seitelman, Leon & Brenda lseitelman@aol.com Lebowitz Brian Durkin brian.durkin@rrd.com
  Shapera, Paul pnsws@sbcglobal.net      
22-Sep Shapiro, Lawrence & Gail lemonldy@aol.com   Arnie Weinstein aewdmd1@gmail.com
  Sher, Lorin lorinsher@gmail.com      
29-Sep Shipman, Gregg & Marci gregg.e.shipman@baml.com   Julie Teplitsky jteplitsky@comcast.net
  Shore, Michael & Lori maxshore@cox.net      
6-Oct Soltoff, Gary & Cindy gsoltoff@gmail.com Coelho Paul Zimmerman p.zimmerman@cox.net
  Somberg, Matthew & Amy somberg@gottfriedsomberg.com      
13-Oct Stein, Jeffrey & Deborah jestein49@aol.com Gardiner Larry Garfinkel LMGarfinkel@gmail.com
  Stolzenberg, Mark & Elissa estolzenberg@sbcglobal.net      
20-Oct Tishler, Darren & Stephanie dtishler@gmail.com   Lee Berger lee_m_berger@yahoo.com
  Tosatti, Tom & Leslie tljjrocky@aol.com      
27-Oct Tucker, Ross & Ann annsvideo@cox.net Babineau Len Kaplan lekaplan@att.net
  Wagner, Jesse jesse.wagner@sbcglobal.net      
3-Nov Weber, Joseph & Paula pjwebbs1@juno.com Hunt Judy Kulick judyk@cox.net
  Weiner, Steve & Robin steve_robin@att.net      
10-Nov Weinstein, Daniel & Stacey stw729@gmail.com Steckler Marla Perlstein perlstein@hartford.edu
  Wildstein, David & Meghan wildsteins@yahoo.com      
17-Nov Yalof, David & Andrea david.yalof@cox.net   Tim Lawrence tim_lawrence@loomis.org
  Zaientz, Nathan & Sara natezaientz@gmail.com      
24-Nov Zubkov, Alexander & Bella alexanderz633@gmail.com   Alan Paperny alan.paperny@gmail.com
  Abeles, Sigmund & Rochelle SigA9738@sbcglobal.net      
1-Dec Abramowitz, Barry & Kristine barrya2z@aol.com Goldstein Howie Breinan breinan@alumni.stanford.org
  Aronson, Jerri jl2012135@gmail.com      
8-Dec Auerbach, Brenda brendasmaga@gmail.com   June Renert junemhr@gmail.com
  Avroch, Steven savroch@aol.com      
15-Dec Baker, David & Jessica david.baker@travelers.com   Marji Finkel marjifinkel@gmail.com
  Barbara, Stuart & Lauren snl0617@att.net      
22-Dec Bassow, Lee & Sandi bassow@mac.com   Shawna Gale shawna.gale@gmail.com
  Berman, Arnold & Elizabeth abkh@me.com      
29-Dec Bernstein, Rick & Silver-Bernstein, Carrie tcccsb@earthlink.net   Harriet Cutler Cutlerbass@aol.com
  Berquist, Carl & Jill carl.berquist@thehartford.com      
Thu, November 23 2017 5 Kislev 5778